First Impressions…

Our engagement party is days away, and my parents have gotten their act together to make it to the party. That’s just the first step though, now we are all heading to Florida. And this will be the first time that our families, particularly our parents will be meeting each other. Needless to say, my anxiety is at an all time high.

My parents’ have met a lot of my friends, and they have always treated them nicer than, me, their own daughter. Something that has always continued to baffle me. (I won’t even start on that now.) But I’m hopeful and fearful, at the same time, for them to do more than that. I have never been this serious with anyone before, so my expectation of them is the same. Even though, the fact that they are meeting for the first time, has me overwhelmed.

One of my mother’s favorite things, at least I have thought, is to talk about me! The number one thing that I absolutely hate. Mostly because, she’s not kind of person to just talk me up. She is likely to tell them mostly bad and worrisome things that I’ve done. And that is truly an endless list in her mind, as far as I know. I’ve overheard her conversations about me, and have never wanted to be around. Those are the times that I am driven to walk away from her. And has driven our relationship apart! Yet, this could really harm what I have with my future in-laws.

This is where I have to learn to let my fears go. At least that’s what I’m trying to tell myself. Despite, what his parents’ have seen with us and in me, I can’t worry about how my mother will influence any of those feelings they have. That doesn’t even take into account what actions I may do, to change their feelings of me. I’m not saying that I’m going to do something crazy, but with this stress on me has led to some abnormal happenings in my life.

I was driving to work last week, and it started like any other morning, until I got in my car. It was a Tuesday morning, and I got ready like any other. But it wasn’t until I hit the road that I felt overwhelmed. Traffic was horrible, it was drizzling, and it didn’t take more than 10-15 minutes, that I let my breakfast go. I didn’t feel sick, I didn’t expect it, and I have not thrown up for years.

I accounted this all to my anxiety. Despite what happened, I knew that I had to call work, because I was a mess. At learning that I had thrown up, I was told to stay home. This was just another worry for me, because that’s where all my anxiety started, so now, I had to throw myself into my work. I didn’t know at the time, that my emotions would ever take over my entire body. It was an unfortunate experience for me.

So, if you have any advice about your parents’ first meeting with your in-laws, please let me know. This has been so overwhelming time for me. I truly do want your opinion about my situation. I don’t want to worry about my parents, when I have to present our relationship and love to everyone. This is where I want to please everyone. At the end of the day, I want them to enjoy the day and be happy for us. But that is a LOT to ask, and as happy as I am to see my fiancé, I am actually dreading the rest of everything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

