I’m Not Sure…

I have just survived my first hurricane and power outage for almost 48 hours. In addition, my first fire ant bite, which brought me to tears. And I’m going to have to find myself a new job. But now there’s other fronts to face, my man’s truck has been brought to the shop, with transmission issues. I have handled most everything pretty well, but I don’t know if I am alright with him now driving my car.

My car means a lot to me and is the most important possession that I moved down to FL  Not that I don’t trust him, but I was not happy that his parents did not even offer one of their cars to use. With all the cars they have, which may not be used daily, because they are both retired. Instead, we were forced to make him drive mine. My car, that I have only allowed a select few to drive, and even than not willingly. And although, he has promised me that he will take the best care of driving and not stinking it up.

I’m still mixed about whether or not we should fix his aging and high mile truck, or just get a newer vehicle. It’s hard to figure out in this new situation, because I’m not even feeling like I’ve settled in yet. The original plan was that I would move in with him, I would have my job, working remotely, and that we would do something enjoyable on that first weekend.

The first part of that definitely happened, the second part fell through. I was not able to continue working, because it would be remotely. And that was not due to my work, or boss, but more because of the acquisition that the company I was working for went through. They decided that my position wasn’t needed anymore. And to be here, to not have the freedom to go wherever I chose, it was the situation that I dreaded the most. Yet his mom assured me that she would take me anywhere I would need to go.

I have been utterly thankful, for the assistance and chauffeuring that his mother has offered. And I feel the need to send a thank you in a card to her. We invited his family out to watch football and cookout. Only his parents came, and it was just another time for me to try and bond with this mother. Yet, most recently, we went out with his entire family for my fiancé’s birthday dinner. It was much like how I would have celebrated birthdays with my own family, and I was happy to be there to show him I cared.

There were still things that surprised me. We were the first one’s to the restaurant and his sister with his nephew where right behind us. Which made me think that his sister’s boyfriend was not coming. But, it turned out that he drove himself, my mistake. Once seated, I was next to my fiancé, and all the other couples didn’t sit together.

It was unlike my family going out, there is very little that my family would show to the world that there is any question that there was anything unhappy. Once, you place that thought into someone’s head, that leads to so many questions. We where not about to present that front. Yet, it led me to questions about his family.

He has never been very open about the state of his family. I know that his parents have stuck it out between his dad traveling, and his mon having to raise two generations of children. Yet, I come in and see their differences, from what he has told me, they are the perfect example of what life dictated then. And I can say, that is not me, nor is it us! So, I only hope that we don’t have to face anything our parents did. Because that is what it means, to live our own life.

Leave a comment